Texas Tenants' Union

Home » 2020 » May

Monthly Archives: May 2020

Recent Comments

Texas Tenants' Union on \
Jenny Hooke on \
Texas Tenants' Union on \
Sandra Akridge on \

COVID-19 Eviction Protections 

The CDC has issued a Temporary Halt in Residential Evictions to Prevent the Further Spread of COVID-19  You can read the order by clicking on the blue title. You must sign a declaration under penalty of perjury and give it to your landlord to be protected. Here is a link to the declaration: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/downloads/declaration-form.pdf

Here are fact sheets and declarations in other languages, via the National Low Income Housing Coalition, National Housing Law Project, and Alliance for Housing Justice.

       Do NOT sign unless each statement is true.  As always, keep a copy for your own records and have proof it is received.

Rent is still due. To find rent assistance, call 211 and check for programs at https://nlihc.org/rental-assistance.

Texas Eviction Diversion Program – The Supreme Court of Texas established the Texas Eviction Diversion Program (TEDP) through the Twenty-Seventh Emergency Order Regarding the COVID-19 State of Disaster.  TEDP may provide up to six months of rental assistance for eligible tenants who are behind on their rent due to the COVID-19 pandemic and have been sued for eviction. The program is operating in 19 counties now, and is scheduled to become effective in all counties on January 1. Call 855-270-7655 or see the brochures below for more information.

Texas Supreme Court — Courts may not hold jury trials until February 1, with some exceptions. Courts are also allowed to suspend deadlines and procedures until February 1, 2021.

Austin and Dallas have passed 60-day grace period ordinances to give tenants more time to pay rent.

City and County of El Paso – rents are capped at the rent level charged on March 13, 2020 until the state of disaster ends.

City of San Marcos – gives tenants a 90-day grace period to pay rent.

Travis County – Nonpayment eviction cases will not be heard until after December 31, 2020 if the tenant’s rent is $2,475.00 a month or less.

Find legal help and additional information on our links page at https://txtenants.org/links/

%d bloggers like this: