Texas Tenants' Union

Follow me on Twitter

Welcome to TTU

Please feel free to reach out with any questions or concerns at (214) 823-2733.
You can view Youtube videos on tenants’ rights at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbbuIBs1I4NVdX1jjk0wh8Q
You can get information on our next live online workshop at https://txtenants.org/tenants-rights-workshop-info/
Scroll down to see COVID-19 eviction protections.
If you need help paying rent, call 211 and check for programs at https://nlihc.org/rental-assistance.
Don’t forget to visit us at https://www.facebook.com/texastenantsunion and https://twitter.com/txtenantsunion
Our address 8035 E R L Thornton Fwy., Suite 535 , Dallas, TX 75228.

COVID-19 Eviction Protections 

The CDC has issued a Temporary Halt in Residential Evictions to Prevent the Further Spread of COVID-19  You can read the order by clicking on the blue title. You must sign a declaration under penalty of perjury and give it to your landlord to be protected. Here is a link to the declaration: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/downloads/declaration-form.pdf

Here are fact sheets and declarations in other languages, via the National Low Income Housing Coalition, National Housing Law Project, and Alliance for Housing Justice.

       Do NOT sign unless each statement is true.  As always, keep a copy for your own records and have proof it is received.

Rent is still due. To find rent assistance, call 211 and check for programs at https://nlihc.org/rental-assistance.

Texas Supreme Court — Courts may not hold jury trials until December 1, with some exceptions. Courts are also allowed to suspend deadlines and procedures until December 1, 2020.

Austin and Dallas have passed 60-day grace period ordinances to give tenants more time to pay rent.

City and County of El Paso – rents are capped at the rent level charged on March 13, 2020 until the state of disaster ends.

City of San Marcos – gives tenants a 90-day grace period to pay rent.

CARES Act properties – evictions are suspended until July 25 and then landlord must give a 30-day notice. In addition, landlords can’t charge late fees from 3/27/20 to 7/24/20. You can check to see if your home is covered by the CARES Act at this link: https://t.co/5TBBi5372g?amp=1 

Travis County – No eviction cases (residential and commercial) will be heard until after September 30, 2020, except where the action of the tenant, or the tenant’s household members or guests, pose an imminent threat.

REAL ESTATE What You Need to Know About Tenant Rights in Texas

US News and World Report spoke with the Texas Tenants’ Union for this article.
https://realestate.usnews.com/real-estate/articles/what-you-need-to-know-about-tenant-rights-in-texas?src=usn_fb&fbclid=IwAR3tk3GNxPz3m4UgQReymHLRLwC0W5Eha3ZyxAa9PQfhcVIghVBIs__nByU

\

Donate now through Network for Good!
September 2020
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Hours & Info

(214) 823-2733

Tenants' Rights Workshops:
Every Wednesday from
6:30 pm to 7:00 pm

One on one consultations are available afterwards

By appointment only
M-F: 10:30 am to 4:30 pm

%d bloggers like this: