Please feel free to reach out with any questions or concerns at (214) 823-2733.
Scroll down to see COVID-19 eviction protections and rent assistance programs.
Our address is P.O. Box 570399, Dallas, TX 75357-0399. We are working remotely until further notice.
May 22, 2020 9:30 am
From September 4, 2020 to August 26, 2021 (with a short gap from Aug 1-3, 2021), there was an order from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) to help stop evictions for non-payment of rent due to COVID-19. The US Supreme Court overturned the order so it is no longer in effect.
Rent assistance is available, and there are some other eviction protections. To find rent assistance, call 211, scroll below, and check for programs at https://nlihc.org/rental-assistance and www.consumerfinance.gov/renthelp.
Texas Eviction Diversion Program – The Supreme Court of Texas established the Texas Eviction Diversion Program (TEDP) through the Twenty-Seventh Emergency Order Regarding the COVID-19 State of Disaster. If you and your landlord agree to participate in the Texas Eviction Diversion Program, you may be able to have some of the rent you owe paid and stop your eviction. Call 855-270-7655 or see the brochures below for more information. Even though the Texas Rent Relief Program is not currently taking applications, the Texas Supreme Court has continued the diversion program with other rent assistance through the Fifty-Eighth Emergency Order.
Dallas passed a temporary law on 11/9/22 requiring landlords to give tenants 10 days to apply for rental assistance and then a 60-day grace period before eviction can proceed. This ordinance replaced the COVID-19 eviction ordinance that passed at the start of the pandemic. A permanent ordinance will be considered in the coming weeks.
Austin passed an ordinance on 10/27/22 requiring landlords to give tenants 7 days to correct a lease violation before eviction can proceed. This ordinance replaces an earlier COVID-19 eviction ordinance that had lapsed.
City of San Marcos – gives tenants a 90-day grace period to pay rent.
CARES Act – Landlords of properties with federal assistance, including properties with loans backed by federal government, must give 30-day notice to vacate before filing with the court. You can check to see if your property has a federally-backed loan at this link.
Find free legal help and additional information on our links page at https://txtenants.org/links/
February 22, 2019 7:28 am
US News and World Report spoke with the Texas Tenants’ Union for this article.